Posted by: worldofwillwalton | March 6, 2011

1 year 32 weeks old

Will is 84 weeks old.  He is proving everyday that he is ALL boy!!  I know he likes to wear my heels, but other than that, he is a boy through and through.  And I must say that I see it as a service to his future wife that has good taste in shoes.  🙂 

Up until now he shows us that he is finished with his meals by “cleaning” his space, which consists of throwing all of his remaining food on the ground.  As you can imagine, I love this.  😦  Recently he has added a new “all done eating” symbol.  He now rips his bibs off.  Yes, he wears two bibs, a cloth one that wraps around his sides so when he rubs his hands on his sides they are covered, and a vinyl one that is easy to wipe off.  So now he rips both bibs off and then throws his food on the ground.  ;(

He has also starting to try to “walk” up the stairs instead of crawling up them.  He tries not use his knees at all.  He just goes straight to his feet.  I guess it is a sign that he is starting to get taller.  I don’t want him to be a little shorty forever, but honestly, I would rather him be short until he’s 6-7 and then hit a growth spurt.  He is such a climber that as he gets taller, there are more and more things that he is able to climb.

He started winking this week too.  Jim always winks at him, so he has started copying.  It is hilarious.  He squints and sort of closes both eyes. 

It was the week of big consignment sales here, so Will and I went to one on Wednesday, and the whole team headed to another one Thursday night.  We didn’t find anything good. 😦  Friday night the team headed to Toys R Us and finally decided to use up the remaining square inch of yard that we have left because we bought a swing set for Will.  He loves going to the park, so I know that he’ll love to have stuff to climb on in our own yard.  We’ll see when it ever gets put together because it says it takes 2 handy people 10 hours, well, neither of us are handy, not to mention with Will, we don’t have 10 hours to spend putting it together. So maybe it will be up before he’s 10.  🙂

Will has also started biting.  He’ll bite clothes and furniture.  We’ve tried to tell him “no bite,” but he listens about as much as he does with anything else . . . not at all!!  So Tuesday night, he was just going from place to place biting all of the couches, despite Jim and I both telling him no and pulling him off.  Like most things, he thought it was a fun game.  So I put him in his very first time out.  He is still a little bit young to really understand it, but I had to do something.  I put him in the corner by the front door and set the timer for 1 minute.  I had to put him back at least 5 times and reset the timer because he kept crawling out.  He knew that he was in trouble because he was crying the whole time and just slowly crawling towards freedom.  I finally let him out after about 30 semi-successful seconds.  Once I talked to him and let him out, he got up and ran as fast as he could away from me.  We’ll see.  At this point, I am open to all “no biting” techniques and to giving more timeouts.  The older he gets the more effective timeouts will become, but at this point it is a last ditch effort. 

Friday, we had our second timeout experience.   Will likes to play with a candle in the office.  Everything in the entire house is up and out of reach except for these 2 candles in the office.  Now that he can get on all of the chairs by himself, he likes to climb up and play with the candles.  I am constantly telling him no.  A couple of weeks ago he took a HUGE bite out of one of them.  Friday morning, he kept playing with it despite me saying no.  Finally I picked him up and put him on the floor.  He immediately went over and hit this big stick thing that he knows that he’s not supposed to touch.  So I put him in timeout for not listening.  He did much better this time.  He only crawled out once and stayed for a minute.  I’m working up to the full 90 seconds, but I was happy with a minute this time.  After I talked to him, once again he ran away, but didn’t go back in the office.  🙂  So we’re slowly making progress.  Unfortunately, I have a feeling Will will be finding himself frequently in timeout. 

It is no surprise that Will LOVES playing outside.  He can’t get enough!  So we were headed to the park one day this week, and I was trying to get out of the door.  Will was pulling all of the magnets off of the refrigerator in the garage.  I hit the button to open the garage door, and Will immediately dropped the magnets and took off running as fast as he could towards the outside.  He ran so fast though, that the door hadn’t gotten high enough, and he slammed his forehead into the door and flew backwards onto the ground.  It was both hilarious and horrible at the same time.  Of course he cried, but in typical Will fashion for about 3 seconds.  I was most shocked that he didn’t get a huge welt on his forehead, and I was most sad that I didn’t have a video camera out to catch the whole thing in action because it was so funny (after I knew that he was okay).

Will’s butt was doing really well, until Friday.  He seemed to have a bit of liquidy/runny poop, which really flared his butt up.  He had liquid poop out 4 diapers, so we had lots of clothes changes.   He was in a lot of pain all day during his diaper changes.  😦  It was a tad better Saturday, but not much, he only had to wear 4 different outfits due to the liquid poop out the diaper.  Sunday’s poops were back to normal, but his butt was still super red. We’re trying to get it back on track.

I went to tutor one of my friend’s cousins for his math test to get into the Army Saturday, so I was gone for about 6 hours.  Jim and Will had a lazy day at home since it rained all day.  Then Sunday was also a rainy, yucky day, so we all were pretty lazy.  We did leave to go pick up some poker chips that we bought off of craigslist and then went out to eat at a new pizza joint.  So much for our very long to do list this weekend since it was all outside activities.  😦

84 weeks old

Leave a Reply

Categories

