Posted by: worldofwillwalton | December 20, 2010

NYC here we come

At the last minute Jim had to make a business trip to Bayonne, NJ, which is minutes from Manhattan.  With Christie living in Brooklyn, it seemed like a perfect trip for Will and I to tag along! 

We booked our plane tickets, found a reasonably priced hotel in Midtown Manhattan and were on our way.  Our hotel was in a great location, but I was petrified about bed bugs.  NYC is having a MAJOR outbreak.  It is on the news all of the time and on the front page of national newspapers.  Christie sent me a link on how to check for them, so before we touched anything in the hotel room, even before we sat our bags on the floor, I went to town inspecting everything.  Although they are only the size of an apple seed, I didn’t see any signs.  Our hotel was satisfactory, but we thought our room was tiny.  For us and a crib, it was small.  I told Christie how small I thought it was, but when she saw it because she thought it was huge, by NY standards.  Ugh.  Thank goodness I don’t judge things by NY standards. 🙂    

Unfortunately, Jim had to work all day every day we were there, and with Christie just starting a new job, she couldn’t take off work either.  So it was just Will and I to explore the city by day.  We had a great time!  I realized how un-stroller friendly the city was.  It was extremely difficult to get around with Will in the stroller.  Some of the side walks aren’t wide enough for the wheels, so I had no choice but to walk in the street . . . not a safe place.  99% of the subway stations are all stairs, and there are LOTS of stairs.  So it takes 2 people to carry both Will and the stroller and not get mowed down by all of the people who are moving a mile a minute.  So I could not do it by myself.  Taxis were an option because you don’t have to have a car seat for rented cars, but I also don’t have the money to be taking a taxi all over town.  That left walking, which isn’t really a problem for me.  

Will and I played all day, and then the 5 of us (Will, Jim, Christie, Rob, and I) got together every night for dinner and to hang out.  We checked out of our hotel Friday night and headed to Brooklyn to spend the last night with Christie and Rob.  Unfortunately, I got really sick.  By the time we actually got to their apartment, I thought that I was dying.  Literally, I was sicker than I had been in years.  I kind of put a damper on Friday night.  Saturday morning I felt a little bit better, so we hung out in Brooklyn a little bit before the team flew home.  Will did great on both flights.   It was a fantastic week!  There will be other posts detailing our day’s adventures.  🙂

He was excited for another plane ride.

He was excited for another plane ride.

Time for a nap . . . it was an early flight.

Time for a nap . . . it was an early flight.

Awake and ready to play!

Awake and ready to play!

Thinking about napping again.

Thinking about napping again.

Last day in Brooklyn . . . Red Hook and the Statue of Liberty

Last day in Brooklyn . . . Red Hook and the Statue of Liberty

Team Petrone wanted a picture too

Team Petrone wanted a picture too

Last stop at the Brooklyn Bridge Park with "Uncle" Rob

Last stop at the Brooklyn Bridge Park with "Uncle" Rob

Dancing on the front porch, of course

Dancing on the front porch, of course

Helping daddy push the stroller through the airport

Helping daddy push the stroller through the airport

Leave a Reply

Categories

