Posted by: worldofwillwalton | October 19, 2010

Ikea

“Ikea, where have you been all of my life?”  Holy cow, I love this store.  Ikea came to Charlotte about a year ago, and there was a lot of buzz over the opening.  I had intentions of going, but the opening was so highly anticipated that they had off site parking and bused people to the store.  I decided that I didn’t need anything that badly.  Well, a year later, I finally made it to the store.  It’s true, I may not have been as impressed a year ago because at the time I didn’t need anything.  But, with the purchase of our new home, we have lots of needs.  I finally found a kitchen table, chairs, and bar stools that meet all of our needs in the new house.  I also found TONS of other little things that I want, but will wait until after we move in and see how our current furniture and knick knacks fit.  All of the great stuff wasn’t the only reason I loved the store.  If Will were a little bit taller  and potty trained, they have a free daycare for you to drop your kids off while you shop.  They also have a wonderful restaurant .  It is so nice because it takes you at least 3 hours to go through the store, so I place to eat is nice.  This restaurant was awesome.  I was able to get steamed veggies and milk for Will.  Then they had kids bowls and forks for which to feed him.  Not to mention bibs for him to wear.  They had a place for kids to eat at kid sized tables and chairs, with toys on the tables and all around.  The tables were placed in front of a flat screen that was playing cartoons.  It was wonderful.  Since I spent 4.5 hours at the store, this was a nice break for Will.  As always, Will was a rock star while we were there.  He rode in the cart, both the seat and the big part; he walked around by himself; I carried him; he pushed the cart himself; he climbed on the displays; he played with all of the toys.  He had a great time.  Too bad we missed a nap while we were there, so he also slept the entire way home.  We will definitely be making more trips to Ikea!  🙂

Enjoying some cartoons.

Eating some turkey in the cart.

Getting his exercise repeatedly climbing up and down on the display while we made decisions about bar stools.

Pushing the toys in the kid’s department.

Climbing on the boxes while we were picking up all of our furniture in the self-serve area.

He was pushing the cart himself . . . he ran into the cart that I was pushing.

We had to have 4 carts, so I maned the first, Jim maned the last, and Will maned the 2 in between.  🙂

More toys and food.

Responses

  1. He is such a cutie-pie! He just loves to be doing things, doesn’t matter where or what, he just wants to be busy! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

