Posted by: worldofwillwalton | October 14, 2010

MOPs

So it is that time of year again.  My mom’s group, MOPs, runs according to the school calendar, so it started again.  It is nice to get out of the house and be with other mothers.  Each year we have a topic that focuses the meetings.  Last year, was all about transitioning from the childless to the world of having a child.  It was perfect timing for me, as I was just beginning the transition.  This year it is about the art and science of being a mother.  While the mom’s meet, there is a “daycare” of sorts set up for the kids, MOPPETs.  It is run by volunteers that come in and watch our kids, while we enjoy some adult time.  🙂  As most of you know, Will got “kicked out” a lot last year.  He went through terrible stranger danger and separation anxiety.  They would let him scream and scream, until they couldn’t take it any more, and then would come pull me out.  We started going when Will was 7 weeks old, and he was fine until he was 6 months.  He did horrible from 6 to 10 months.  😦  Since Will has spent a lot of time with family members recently, he has gotten over some of his separation anxiety.  So when MOPs started up again, I figured that he would be fine.  We got there, and he was excited to see his “teachers.”  He put his arms up and went right to them.  He didn’t even cry when I went away.  That lasted about 30 minutes.  I heard the screaming from our room and looked out to see the poor volunteer pacing the halls with my screaming kid.  About 30 minutes later, she came and got me.  😦  As soon as he comes to me, he is fine.  I took him and fed him a banana, and we went back in to play.  I guess they had gone outside and when they came back in because it was too hot, he started crying.  I sat in the room with him while he started playing and then snuck out.  He lasted the rest of the time.  When I went to pick him up, they said that as long as they plied him with Cheerios and puffs.  🙂  Will is like his mom, give me some yummy food, and all is right with the world.  🙂 

Will on his first day!  He was too excited to sit still.

Will on his first day last year. 

What a difference a year makes.  🙂

Responses

  1. Oh yes, the difference he has made……….in all of our lives! Precious, precious, precious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

