Posted by: worldofwillwalton | October 19, 2009

12 weeks

Will is 12 weeks old!  I can’t believe how fast time flies.  Will has a new fascination with his hands.  He sucks on them all of the time.  I’m fine with it as long as it is his fist and not any individual fingers.  I don’t want to have to break a thumb sucking habit later, so if a single finger makes its way into his mouth, we pull it out right away.  The other day Will was supposed to be napping and I heard something through the monitor.  I thought he was coughing, but it continued for several minutes.  Finally I went in just to check to make sure he was okay, and he was just sucking away on his fist.  I just had to laugh. 

Since the beginning of September, I have been putting Will down for naps and bed wide awake because he has to learn how to put himself to sleep.  We didn’t want to have to break a rocking habit down the road, so we both thought this was one of the most important things we could do from early on.  Recently, he has been crying a whole bunch before he goes to bed at night.  He goes down great for his naps, but when bed time rolls around, he screams, sometimes for hours.  After several days of this, we finally let him just cry it out.  Before having Will, I thought it would be no big deal to let him cry it out.  I know nothing is wrong with him, and I have always let him cry for 5 minutes before I ever get him to see if he would fall back to sleep on his own.  I found out that there is a big difference between 5 minutes and 30 minutes!!  It was killing me to let him just scream!  Jim had to force me to not go in there and get him.  It only took about 30 minutes before he finally gave up and went to sleep.  Since that night, he’s gone back to just falling right to sleep.  Now it will be crying it out every time he decides he doesn’t want to go to bed.  He’s a big boy now and can handle it.  That is going to be my mantra while he’s crying!  🙂

12 weeks.  Kind of a smile :)

12 weeks. Kind of a smile 🙂

Responses

  1. This is the best thing!!It took me three times to figure it out but I’ve realized crying can be good for them. We started Mallory crying it out at 10 weeks–it took a week and then she went to sleep all on her own!! SHe goes down at 7pm at night and sleeps till 4 or 5 am. Even during nap time, I’d let her cry if she had only slept for 45 min. Now she sleeps 3 hours at a time for nap!! Woo hoo for crying it out. It is hard at first but by #3 you know they will be just fine!!!!I love seeing you and Jim as parents–it is so much fun!!!!

  2. Megan,
    We need to start putting him down earlier. Right now we start the process at about 7:30, but he doesn’t go down until between 9 and 10. 7 sounds so much better! I also need to try the crying during a nap. He naps for 2.5-3 hours the first time, but then only for about 45 min to an hour the rest of the day. I need to work on that! 🙂 We miss you guys!


Leave a Reply

Categories

